Skip to content

Painting at Botshabelo

August 21, 2015

In autumn we went for a day to the Mission station of Botshabelo near Middelburg.  The history of Botshabelo started as a place of refuge for Christians in South Africa and grew into an important and influential center where the Gospel was proclaimed among Black people, where Black and White received education and training and where commerce and industry were practiced. The well known artist Gerard Sekoto was also born on this mission station. At this time it is deteriorating rapidly, but I still love the atmosphere of the place. I already made a few other paintings there in the past as you can see under the topic of “Mission stations” on my blog.

DSC_0087

I bought an new field easel.  The easel fold up and fits neatly in a bag together with my paint, brushes and everything I need to paint.  Now I have to carry much less things when I want to do plein air painting.

DSC_0134

But as my daughter, Lydia, is now using my old stuff, we still carry a lot.

DSC_0151

DSC_0153

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

