Skip to content

In die skadu van soveel bome

March 18, 2017

detail.lrmx-2272-g570.1.front.079580038X

As I wrote earlier I am busy preparing for a solo exhibition in August/ September.  I paint a variety of trees. I don’t want to show much of it now, but I am enjoying myself a lot.  One day I heard some wonderful poems from Hennie Nortje read on the radio.  I immediately fell in love with it, but couldn’t get the anthology “In die skadu van soveel bome” anywhere for sale anymore.  Hennie was so friendly to send me one.  I will share one poem, although it is in Afrikaans.  It is about the Wild Plum tree.  The pattern in which its leaves are grows looks like a cyclone and gets a symbol of hope  about the rain that will come.  It is such a beautiful image, especially when thinking back to the drought we had here last year and is still continuing in the Western Cape.  I hope I will find a way of using this poem in my work.

Wildepruim

(Harpephyllum caffra)

 

Jou blare in spirale,

‘n weerkaart vol siklone.

Jou bas ‘n grys kouefront

natblink en glad

asof die reën waarvoor ek bid

(sonder selfs ‘n wolk in sig)

reeds teen jou spat.

harpephyllum-caffrum-9bb6a

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Mag jy ‘n wonderlike uitstalling hê, met die skilderye eat ereplekke in onder andere wonings sal kry

Leave a Reply

