Launch of my Picture Book

Illustrations, trees, Uncategorized

What a good feeling of holding your printed book in your hands for the first time! Last year I  took part in a children book writing contest and I got a first price for my book “Willem die Witgatboom” in the 4-6 year category. Part of the prize was the publication of the book. I made the illustrations myself and the book was launched last week Thursday during a beautiful event.

The main character in the book is Willem Witgat, a shepherd tree from the Kalahari.. Willem Witgat’s roots are very deep. He means a lot to the people and animals of the Kalahari, but then danger threatens…

In the book the children can discover the wonderful properties of the Shepherd tree: It’s cool shadow, medicinal uses, the fact that it’s roots can be used as a substitute for coffee and a lot more.

Look below at a preview:

The book can be bought at Takealot following the link below:

https://www.takealot.com/willem-die-witgatboom/PLID91973712?fbclid=IwAR2S0ci9OQfCZw11GooVVS0D4RbmQ7Ek4Z5FJehd1nAPDSHt3H3zpEF7LpM

or at: Fontein Uitgewery: 1249 Starkey Ave, Waverley, Pretoria, 0186 Phone082 938 0775 marlize@fonteinuitgewery.co.za

My niece with her interpretation of “Willem Witgat”.

Leave a comment